List of High Courts in India

The High Courts are the principal civil courts of original jurisdiction in the state, and can try all offences including those punishable with death. The work of most High Courts consists of Appeals from lowers courts and writ petitions in terms of Article 226 of the Constitution of India. There are 24 High Courts in INDIA.

Let us now take a look at the List of High Courts in India along with their establishment year, jurisdiction , seat , bench and act under which they were established.

Court Name Year of Establishment Act  Established Jurisdiction Seat Bench
Allahabad High Court 1866 Indian High Courts Act 1861 Uttar Pradesh Allahabad Lucknow
Chennai High Court 1862 Indian High Courts Act 1861 Pondicherry,
Tamil Nadu
Chennai Madurai
Chhattisgarh High Court 2000 Madhya Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
Delhi High Court 1966 Delhi High Court Act, 1966 NCT of Delhi New Delhi
Gauhati High Court 1948 Government of India Act, 1935 Arunachal
Guwahati Aizwal,
Gujarat High Court 1960 Bombay Reorgansisation Act, 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad
Himachal Pradesh High Court 1971 State of Himachal Pradesh Act, 1970 Himachal
Jammu and Kashmir High Court 1928 Letters Patent issued by then Maharaja of Kashmir Jammu and
Jharkhand High Court 2000 Bihar Reorganisation Act, 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi
Karnataka High Court 1884 Mysore High Court Act, 1884 Karnataka Bangalore Dharwad,
Kerala High Court 1956 States Reorganisation Act, 1956 Kerala,
Kolkata High Court 1862 Indian High Courts Act 1861 Andaman and Nicobar Islands,
West Bengal
Kolkata Port Blair
Madhya Pradesh High Court 1936 Government of India Act, 1935 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur Gwalior, Indore
Manipur High Court 2013 North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012 Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya High Court 2013 North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012 Meghalaya Shillong
Mumbai High Court 1862 Indian High Courts Act 1861 Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli,
and Diu,
Mumbai Aurangabad,
Odisha High Court 1948 Orissa High Court Ordinance, 1948 Odisha Cuttack
Punjab and Haryana High Court 1947 Punjab High Court Ordinance, 1947 Chandigarh,
Rajasthan High Court 1949 Rajasthan High Court Ordinance, 1949 Rajasthan Jodhpur Jaipur
Sikkim High Court 1975 The 36th Amendment to the Indian Constitution Sikkim Gangtok
Tripura High Court 2013 North-Eastern Areas (Reorganisation) and Other Related Laws (Amendment) Act, 2012 Tripura Agartala
Uttarakhand High Court 2000 Uttar Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2000 Uttarakhand Nainital

Important Terms relating to High Courts in India

Tribunal – A tribunal is a term for any body acting judicially, whether or not it is called a tribunal in its title. For example, an advocate appearing before a Court on which a single Judge was sitting could describe that judge as ‘their tribunal’.

Permanent Bench – A permanent bench comprises of one or more High Court judges who sit yearlong at a particular location that is different from the permanent seat of the High Court.

Circuit Bench – A Circuit Bench is for territories which are far flung but do not have too many matters to justify a full fledged permanent bench. As a result, once or twice a year, some judges travel to these areas and dispose off all the High Court appeals of that jurisdiction.

Division Bench – In a Division Bench, a case is heard and judged by at least 2 judges.

Full Bench – A Full bench refers to a court of law consisting of a greater-than-normal number of judges.

Few Important  Facts about High Courts in India

  • The Calcutta High Court is the oldest High Court in the country, established on 2 July 1862.
  • The Madras High Court in Chennai, Bombay High Court in Mumbai, Calcutta High Court in Kolkata and Allahabad High Court in Allahabad are the oldest four High Courts in India.
  • Three new High Courts were constituted in the northeast — Meghalaya, Manipur and Tripura in 2013.
  • On March 31, 2017, women created history by heading all the four major and oldest High Courts of India. Bombay HC is headed by Chief Justice Manjula Chellur, Calcutta HC by Chief Justice Nishita Nirmal Mhatre, Madras HC by Chief Justice Indira Banerjee and Delhi HC by Chief Justice G Rohini.
  • First female Judge of High Court was Anna Chandy.
  • First female Chief Justice of High court is Leila Seth (Himachal Pradesh HC)
  • India’s first e-court was opened at High Court of Judicature at Hyderabad in  2016.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.